Manchester City’s De Bruyne Wins PFA Player Of The Year

Kelvin De Bruyne
Manchester City’s Kelvin De Bruyne. Photo: [email protected] League


Kevin De Bruyne grew to become simply the third participant to win the English Professional Footballers’ Association’s (PFA) participant of the yr for a second consecutive season on Sunday.

The Belgium midfielder follows within the footsteps of Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo as the one different gamers to win the award in back-to-back years.

De Bruyne was important to City’s third Premier League title in 4 years and a fourth consecutive League Cup triumph.

The 29-year-old additionally guided City to the membership’s first ever Champions League ultimate, the place his presence was badly missed through the latter levels of a 1-0 defeat to Chelsea final weekend as he was compelled off early within the second-half with two fractures to his face.

“You want to win all the trophies with the team and then obviously if you win a trophy like this, this is probably the most important one as an individual trophy in the league,” stated De Bruyne.

“To be voted by your opponents who you compete with each sport, that claims loads. They are the folks, in my opinion, who know probably the most in regards to the sport and they’re making an attempt to get to the very best degree.

“When you have these things, you can show your kids and say, ‘Look, this is what daddy did when he was younger’.”

De Bruyne scored 10 targets and supplied 18 assists in 40 appearances throughout all competitions for City this season.

He pipped membership teammates Phil Foden, Ilkay Gundogan and Ruben Dias, who had been named on a six-man shortlist alongside Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes.

Dias was topped the Football Writers’ Association participant of the yr final month.

Foden capped an outstanding marketing campaign by being named PFA males’s younger participant of the yr.

READ ALSO: Neymar Says Nike Claim Of Split Over Sex Assault Probe A ‘Lie’

Chelsea’s Mason Mount, Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, West Ham’s Declan Rice and Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood had been all on the shortlist for the younger participant prize.

“I’m really honoured,” Foden stated in a PFA video. “There have been some great players in the past that have won it and I feel really lucky to win it because there have been so many great young talents this year. It’s a special moment.”

Chelsea and England ahead Fran Kirby scooped the ladies’s accolade, having discovered the online 25 occasions in all competitions because the Blues retained the Women’s Super League title, received the League Cup and reached the Champions League ultimate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Manchester City’s De Bruyne Wins PFA Player Of The Year

Send this to a friend