Bayelsa State Teams Dominate AITEO Cup Finale

Bayelsa State Teams Dominate AITEO Cup Finale 2
A photograph of Bayelsa United FC receiving their cheque prize


For the primary time within the historical past of Nigeria’s Cup competitions, one State claimed each the men and women titles as Nigeria National League aspect, Bayelsa United and Bayelsa Queens had been topped champions of the 2021 AITEO Cup competitors on the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin metropolis, Edo state.

The groups ignored the rain to play breathtaking soccer and the epic battles produced 10 objectives to the delight of soccer officers, state dignitaries, and spectators.

Bayelsa Queens’ striker, Mary Anjor set the ball rolling for a fruitful day for the ‘Glory of all Lands’ when she poked in her eighth purpose of the competitors within the fifteenth minute of the ladies’s ultimate to place her crew forward. FC Robo’s captain, Gift Monday didn’t waste time to reply 4 minutes later, however Juliet Sunday (thirty seventh minute) and Peace Efih (forty third minute) made positive the women from Yenagoa held a cushty lead going into the break.

Bayelsa State Teams Dominate AITEO Cup Finale 3
Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki presenting the prize to the winner


When play resumed within the second half, Habibat Akinwande pulled one again for the women from Lagos within the sixty fifth minute, however substitute Joy Bokiri made the sport secure with a spectacular fourth purpose from a free-kick 22 yards out.

In the boys’s ultimate, with the effective run of Bayelsa United to the ultimate, Nigeria Professional Football League aspect Nasarawa United had no motive to be complacent. The NNL crew is coached by former worldwide Dipreye Teibowei they usually surprised Rangers International, Lobi Stars, and Rivers United on their strategy to the ultimate.

Bayelsa United confirmed they imply enterprise when Inikurogha Okardi smashed in from the best within the nineteenth minute. The loud ovation that greeted the purpose was nonetheless on when Chinedu Ohanachom despatched a pile driver previous goalkeeper John Shaibu for the leveler.

Aliyu Abdullahi shot the Solid Miners in entrance within the twenty sixth minute, however 10 minutes later, Emo James rose highest within the field to nod residence a candy equalizer for the Bayelsa boys.Bayelsa State Teams Dominate AITEO Cup Finale 4


The second interval was a decent and tense affair that nonetheless produced no purpose. In the penalty shootout, the boys from Bayelsa prevailed 4-3 to say their first-ever nationwide silverware.

Bayelsa United pocketed the sum of N25million for his or her triumph, with Nasarawa United incomes N10million. Bayelsa Queens additionally secured N10million whereas FC Robo Queens returned to Lagos with N5million.

Bayelsa Queens’ Mary Anjor emerged the Top Scorer of the ladies’s competitors and likewise claimed the Most Valuable Player award. In the boys’s competitors, the Top Scorer award went to Gafaar Olafimihan of 3SC whereas Nasarawa United goalkeeper Mohammed Galadima claimed the Most Valuable Player award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Bayelsa State Teams Dominate AITEO Cup Finale

Send this to a friend