REVEALED: List Of 20 New States Proposed By Nigeria’s Senate Committee

The agitation for the creation of extra states within the nation is about to enter a brand new section.

This follows the advice by the   Senate Committee on Constitution Review that  referendum be performed for 20 new states by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

REVEALED: List Of 20 New States Proposed By Nigeria’s Senate Committee 2

According to The Nation, the committee’s choice was reached after contemplating varied elements together with the power of civilian administration to create states.

It recalled that the defunct Mid-Western Region was created in 1963 in  the First Republic.

To test tax evasion, the Senate panel additionally authorized  the modification of the 1999 Constitution to permit for the creation of Federal Revenue Court.

There shall be about 5 income courts to cope with all tax points nationwide, particularly instances involving multinational companies.

A extremely positioned supply mentioned the Senate panel will quickly meet with the House of Representatives Committee on Constitution Review for joint consultations on a number of the authorized amendments.

Creation of latest states tops the checklist of amendments to the 1999 Constitution.

Although lower than 5 of the present 36 states are economically viable, it was gathered that the Senate Committee was decided to respect what it termed “the genuine desire of Nigerians.”

The checklist of requests for brand new states is sort of lengthy however sources mentioned referendum could also be performed for no fewer than 20 states.

Some of the requests embrace ITAI State (from Akwa Ibom State); State standing for the FCT; Katagum State from Bauchi State; Okura State from Kogi East; Adada State from Enugu State; Gurara State from Kaduna South; and Ijebu State from Ogun State.

Others embrace Ibadan State from Oyo State; Tiga State from Kano State; Ghari State from Kano State;  Amana State from Adamawa; Gongola State from Adamawa; Mambilla State from Taraba State; Savannah State from Borno State; and Okun state from Kogi State.

Others on the checklist are Etiti State from the South East Zone; Orashi State from Imo and Anambra states; Njaba from the current Imo State or the excision of Aba State from Abia State; Anioma State from Delta State; Torogbene and Oil River States, from Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers states; and Bayajida State from components of Katsina, Jigawa and Zamfara states.

The supply mentioned: ”The Senate Committee on Constitution Review has seen the desirability of making new states which can even clear up the nation’s current safety challenges.

“What the Senate Committee has recommended is to amend the constitution to empower INEC to conduct the referendum on state creation.

”When INEC will get the constitutional mandate, we are able to then invoke Section in Part 1 of Chapter 1 of the 1999 Constitution.

“We are talking of referendum for less than or about 20 new states.”

Responding to a query, the supply added: “The procedures for creating new states may be cumbersome but realisable.

“At the committee level, it was obvious that a civilian administration is better placed to create new states than any other form of government. In fact, the defunct Mid-Western Region was created in 1963 during the First Republic.

”In this Fifth Amendment to the 1999 Constitution, the National Assembly can create new states if the situations are met.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

REVEALED: List Of 20 New States Proposed By Nigeria’s Senate Committee

Send this to a friend