2023: Five Northern Ex-Governors Jostle To Become Chairman Of Ruling Party, APC

Although the All Progressives Congress (APC) is but to repair a date for its nationwide conference, no fewer than 11 chieftains together with 5 former governors from Northern states are jostling to succeed Governor Mai Mala Buni who’s the caretaker chairman.

According to Nation, the disaster that rocked the tenure of Comrade Adams Oshiomole-led National Working Committee lower it brief mid-term in a “palace coup” of June 25, 2020 when the celebration’s National Executive Committee (NEC) sacked the Oshiomhole-led NWC.

2023: Five Northern Ex-Governors Jostle To Become Chairman Of Ruling Party, APC 2

The celebration had then appointed Yobe Governor, Buni to guide a 13-man Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC).

The committee was mandated to recognise, resolve the avalanche of the disaster rocking the celebration and to organise a nationwide conference to elect a brand new NWC, consistent with the celebration’s structure.

After two extensions (of six months) have been granted, the Caretaker Committee commenced the method for the emergence of a brand new NWC. On July 31, 2021 ward congresses have been held in additional than 18,000 wards all through the nation. It was adopted up by the native authorities congress whereas the state congress is slated for October 2.

Ahead of the conference, agitation for zoning of the celebration positions and elective workplaces retains mounting and the necessity for the celebration to honour the gentleman’s settlement of energy rotation in 2023 between the North and the South is turning into extra palpable.

From rising indications, the APC nationwide chairmanship aspirants, who’re principally from the North, embrace; one; Abdulaziz Yari; a two-term former governor of Zamfara State.

Yari was former chairman of the Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF).

Two, there may be Ali Modu Sheriff; he’s probably the most controversial determine within the race. A founding member of the APC, he’s additionally a frontrunner of the defunct All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP), one of many legacy events that metamorphosed into the APC.

Another aspirant is Isa Yuguda; former Bauchi State governor and former Minister of Aviation.

Four, there may be Kashim Shettima; he’s former Borno State governor and a lawmaker within the National Assembly.

Former Nasarawa State governor, Tanko Al-Makura, is one other contender for the nationwide chairmanship place.

Until his current encounter with the anti-graft company, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Al-Makura is seen as a prime contender and fewer controversial determine within the race for the APC chairmanship.

Also, there may be Danjuma Goje; a former Gombe State governor. He is a third-term senator representing Gombe Central and Chairman Senate Committee on Appropriation.

Abdullahi Adamu is former Nasarawa State Governor and a third-term senator.

Also, there may be Saliu Mustapha; his identify might not ring a bell as a result of he isn’t within the membership of former governors, however he’s well-known throughout the political circle.

A politician from Kwara State, Mustapha was the nationwide deputy chairman of the defunct CPC. 

There is lastly, Sani Mohammed Musa; he’s the youngest of all of the chairmanship aspirants.

The 54-year previous member of the higher chamber of the National Assembly represents Niger East Senatorial district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

2023: Five Northern Ex-Governors Jostle To Become Chairman Of Ruling Party, APC

Send this to a friend