Names Of #EndSARS Protesters Still Languishing In Prisons Across Nigeria 8 Months After

In October 2020, from Ondo to Oyo to Lagos to the nation’s capital and elements of many different states, hundreds of youths hit the streets to protest towards harassment and extra-judicial killings by operatives of the now-disbanded Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS).

The demonstrations garnered the assist of a number of influential figures the world over, particularly after operatives of the Nigerian Army stormed the Lekki tollgate protest floor in Lagos and opened fireplace on unarmed protesters on the night time of October 20.

Names Of #EndSARS Protesters Still Languishing In Prisons Across Nigeria 8 Months After 2

SaharaReporters gathered that a number of the protesters who participated in demonstration are nonetheless languishing in prisons accross the nation eight months after.

The costs most popular towards them are conspiracy to commit the next felonies, to wit: arson, riotous meeting, stealing and malicious harm.

At the Surulere Prison in Ondo West Local Government Area of Ondo state, three individuals particularly Ayodele Bukunmi, Ojo Samuel and Ani Obinna have been in detention for the previous eight months.

Kpanou Robbert, Aletile David, Peter John, Muri Garuba, Garfar Olalere, Sunday Okoro, Augustine Chukwudi, Lateef Segun, Yakubu Jimoh and Nasiru Danjumoh have been arrested at totally different areas in Lagos after the October 2020 protests and have been languishing on the Kirikiri Prison in Lagos.

Others within the jail facility embrace Adebayo Usman, Aderoju Theophilus, Ayobami Saheed, Akinyemi Bolaji, Olagoke Adewale, Ganiu Ambali, Seyi Awobola and Damola Leigh.

In Oyo state, Adesina Ayobami Ademuyiwa and 10 others that allegedly participated within the #EndSARS protest have been detained on the Correctional Centre within the state since final October, eight months in the past. 

It was learnt that human rights activists had drawn the eye of Oyo State Government to the circumstances, however the authorities insisted that the prosecution is being undertaken by the Federal authorities. 

Others being prosecuted by the federal government embrace Ikechukwu Eze, Ariyo Sodiq, Ikenna Amaechi, Oyewole Olumide, Ariyo Afeez, Taoreed Abiodun, Adekunle Moruf, Rasheed Tiamiyu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Names Of #EndSARS Protesters Still Languishing In Prisons Across Nigeria 8 Months After

Send this to a friend